Evince installation documentation

I just upgraded Evince on my system. Initial attempts were unsuccessful; I got the following message when trying to start it:

(evince:22841): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: Settings schema ‘org.gnome.Evince.Default’ is not installed

I have no idea what this means so in the interim I try upgrading ‘glib’. This mostly goes without hiccups (except that newer versions of glib apparently have a dependency on libffi, for reasons which are tentatively explained in the glib README), however, I get the same error message when I try to start Evince. After some Googling, I discover the necessity of ‘compiling the schemas’:

# glib-compile-schemas /usr/share/glib-2.0/schemas

No mention at all of this in Evince build documentation. It looks like the schema might be compiled automatically if you “make install” Evince without setting DESTDIR, but frankly the necessity of compiling the schema should be documented.

One thought on “Evince installation documentation

  1. Thank you for your rant! I got this error, and mostly what I find out on the web is that I need to install another package. This was the ONLY thing that told me what I needed to do.

Leave a Reply

