MySql 5.1 build documentation – utter crap

I’m currently experiencing the joy of upgrading from MySql 5.0 to 5.1 on our server. After building MySql with the same “configure” options as used previously, then installing it, I run the “mysql_upgrade” command, which gives me some alarming output, basically along the lines of:

mygame.scenarios_tags
Error : Unknown table engine 'InnoDB'
error : Corrupt
mygame.schema_migrations
Error : Unknown table engine 'InnoDB'
error : Corrupt
mygame.screenshot_attachments
Error : Unknown table engine 'InnoDB'
error : Corrupt

Unknown table engine? what the… Corrupt?

So, I go do some googling and reading of manuals (which I suppose I should have done beforehand, sure) and it turns out that in 5.1, the “InnoDB” storage engine (the only one worth actually using, as it actually supports locking and transactions) is now a “plugin” and you need a configuration option to enable it:

[mysqld]
plugin-load=innodb=ha_innodb_plugin.so

Ok, so, problem solved, right? Wrong. I then get the following output in the mysqld log:

111212 14:27:37 [ERROR] Can’t open shared library ‘/u1/overflow/usr/local/mysql-5.1.60/lib/mysql/plugin/ha_innodb_plugin.so’ (errno: 2 ld.so.1: mysqld: fatal: relocation error: file /u1/overflow/usr/local/mysql-5.1.60/lib/mysql/plugin/ha_innodb_plugin.so: symbol )
111212 14:27:37 [ERROR] Couldn’t load plugin named ‘innodb’ with soname ‘ha_innodb_plugin.so’.

Hmm, not what I call an extremely useful error message. There seems to be some symbol resolution problem, but I don’t even know what particular symbol it’s having trouble with. Rather than mess around and trying to debug this, I go back to the build options. When I run “configure –help” I see, amongst other things:

  --with-plugin-PLUGIN    Forces the named plugin to be linked into mysqld
                          statically.

Err, what the… so, if say “–with-plugin-innodb” or something similar, it will link the plugin statically into mysqld? Weird. But hey, it’s a worth a shot. I try adding that to my “configure” options, and it immediately spews out a message saying that it doesn’t recognize the “–with-plugin-innodb” option! What the hell? I try a few variations but no joy. Getting quite frustrated by now. Ok, the “configure –help” output doesn’t match what “configure” actually accepts, maybe the manual will be more update? Hmm, not really; it’s a bit of a confusing mess actually, and it claims that “–with-plugin-PLUGIN” should work. It does suggest however that no plugins are built by default, and therefore I decide to try the alternative “–with-plugins=innodb_plugin,innobase”. I’m not really sure if I need “innobase” but it seems like it can’t hurt. Waiting for compilation to finish now…

Success!

So, compiling without InnoDB support still produced a file called “ha_innodb_plugin.so”, which I can’t actually use? What the?

2 thoughts on “MySql 5.1 build documentation – utter crap

  1. Interesting.

    I downloaded the windows binary version (.zip) of 5.1 and copied my /data folder over from my previous 5.0 version.

    When i run mysql_upgrade I get the same warning about “Unknown Table Engine” because I am also using InnoDB.

    Although my database seems to work fine without it, im concerned that since mysql_upgrade returns this error that im missing something.

    Do you know if there is a way to add/link this plugin to the windows binary version of mysql5.1?

    TIA

Leave a Reply

