Xorg server 1.5.3 fails to build… because of glproto

So when I try to build xorg-server-1.5.3, I get:

/bin/sh ../libtool --tag=CC   --mode=compile gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../include -I../hw/xfree86/os-support -I../hw/xfree86/os-support/bus -I../hw/xfree86/common -I../hw/xfree86/dri -I../hw/xfree86/dri2 -I../mi   -DHAVE_DIX_CONFIG_H -Wall -Wpointer-arith -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wmissing-declarations -Wnested-externs -fno-strict-aliasing -D_BSD_SOURCE -DHAS_FCHOWN -DHAS_STICKY_DIR_BIT -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I/usr/X11R7/include -I/usr/X11R7/include/pixman-1     -I../include -I../include -I../Xext -I../composite -I../damageext -I../xfixes -I../Xi -I../mi -I../miext/shadow  -I../miext/damage -I../render -I../randr -I../fb -I/usr/X11R7/include -I/usr/X11R7/include -I/usr/include/drm -I/usr/X11R7/include/X11/dri -DXFree86Server -DGLX_USE_TLS -DPTHREADS  -g -O2 -MT glxdriswrast.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/glxdriswrast.Tpo -c -o glxdriswrast.lo glxdriswrast.c
 gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I../include -I../hw/xfree86/os-support -I../hw/xfree86/os-support/bus -I../hw/xfree86/common -I../hw/xfree86/dri -I../hw/xfree86/dri2 -I../mi -DHAVE_DIX_CONFIG_H -Wall -Wpointer-arith -Wstrict-prototypes -Wmissing-prototypes -Wmissing-declarations -Wnested-externs -fno-strict-aliasing -D_BSD_SOURCE -DHAS_FCHOWN -DHAS_STICKY_DIR_BIT -I/usr/include/freetype2 -I/usr/X11R7/include -I/usr/X11R7/include/pixman-1 -I../include -I../include -I../Xext -I../composite -I../damageext -I../xfixes -I../Xi -I../mi -I../miext/shadow -I../miext/damage -I../render -I../randr -I../fb -I/usr/X11R7/include -I/usr/X11R7/include -I/usr/include/drm -I/usr/X11R7/include/X11/dri -DXFree86Server -DGLX_USE_TLS -DPTHREADS -g -O2 -MT glxdriswrast.lo -MD -MP -MF .deps/glxdriswrast.Tpo -c glxdriswrast.c  -fPIC -DPIC -o .libs/glxdriswrast.o
In file included from glxdriswrast.c:49:
glxdricommon.h:32: error: expected ':', ',', ';', '}' or '__attribute__' before '*' token
glxdricommon.h:36: warning: type defaults to 'int' in declaration of '__DRIcoreExtension'
glxdricommon.h:36: error: expected ';', ',' or ')' before '*' token
glxdricommon.h:38: error: expected '=', ',', ';', 'asm' or '__attribute__' before 'systemTimeExtension'
glxdriswrast.c:67: error: expected ':', ',', ';', '}' or '__attribute__' before '*' token

(and a bunch more).

It took me a while to figure this one out. There are conflicting “GL/internal/dri_interface.h” files – one comes from Mesa and the other one from the glproto package (version 1.4.9) which is part of the Xorg distribution. Deleting the latter (at /usr/X11R7/include/GL/internal/dri_interface.h) made the problem go away.

It is a bit strange, though; why does glproto include that header file if it’s not needed – if it is, in fact, problematic?

Leave a Reply

